Liminal spaces, heterogeneous communities, and letting go of fear

A few months ago I was wanting to write a piece on living on the edges, in the liminal spaces. I started that post at least four times and abandoned it every single time. I could not make it cohere. It wasn’t until some time in the last week or so that what I was really trying to express had to do with where I felt most fully myself.

For years I thought I had no communities that I really belonged in, but what I’ve come to realize is that communities that are heterogeneous are much more comfortable spaces for me. I am not neatly defined by most labels (without qualifiers) which is why I thought I just existed on the edges, but I think what’s really going on for me is some sort of Venn Diagram. Forgive if I’m using the term incorrectly. I can’t think of a better analogy.

Finding the #sciart community has been nothing short of amazing for me. No one is out there with a ruler checking your scientific knowledge nor are they judging your art pedigree (no matter the format). We are all just excited about art and science and trying to express that in our individual ways. As I said to CartoonNeuroscience (on Twitter), it’s a way for me to start a conversation.

Finally, I was reflecting on wanting to let go of fear specifically as it relates to my art. I went to a meeting of a fiber art(ists) guild. I was so inspired! It made me realize that groups that represent more than one monolithic Thing are where I feel more comfortable and where I am more likely to not only be inspired, but also supported. As 2015 approaches, I say to the darkness, I have many questions and I want many beams of light to shine towards them.

In the spirit of the season, I’m posting a picture of the Deconstructed Santa I made last year. May we continue to ask questions and have interesting conversations.

Deconstructed Santa

6 thoughts on “Liminal spaces, heterogeneous communities, and letting go of fear

    • For me, those intersections are so rich. I’m relieved to have figured this out. I can stop wasting my time trying to find one community that suits me, because there isn’t ONE. There are many! Thanks for reading and commenting. Oh, and did you see Jill’s related post she wrote almost two years ago on her blog? We are so twins. http://t.co/XTiDSXVk4x

  1. Interesting to read about your journey. I’m very much in tune with you on the heterogeneous communities.
    Love the deconstructed Santa!

    • I feel heterogeneous communities are good places to learn and grow. I’m excited to have figured this out and explore more heterogeneous communities that overlap with some of my interests. Thanks for being such a thorough reader. Glad you like Deconstructed Santa! I definitely had fun with him 😀

Leave a Reply

