Another synapse quilt and a blood brain barrier too!

I have neglected to announce here that I will be in the Art of Neuroscience Exhibit at the annual Neuroscience Convention in Washington, DC from Nov 15-19.  Greg DunnLia Cook, Megan McGlynnMichele Banks, and Kathleen Childress will also be there. There are two sessions open to the public, the first is on Saturday, the 15th, from 11 am to 1 pm and the second is Tues, Nov 18 from 3-5pm (I believe).

One of the things I love about creating art in the neuroscience field is how wide open it is.  I can choose any number of things to focus on, from experimental subjects (like jellyfish and octopuses) to data (as in the action potential graph I did) down to the matter on a microscopic level.  These two quilts were inspired by images that were taken under a microscope. If the green one looks familiar, it should. It was inspired by the same image that I used for the black and white synapses.  The second picture is my rendition of a blood brain barrier inspired by this image by Ben Brahim Mohammed.

If you are looking for more pictures, I have posted a bunch on Twitter. (note that not quite all the pictures/videos here are my quilts, but most of them are.) Please feel free to ask me questions!

greensynapses

bloodbrainbarrier

18 thoughts on “Another synapse quilt and a blood brain barrier too!

      • Joni,
        Now, I see the pink flamingos, too! The power of imagination and words. These are fantastic. You havd given me inspiration! I aced my microbiology 5 unit semester class for nursing. Your mention of microscopic got my brain synapses (pun intended) going. I love the colors in the synapse quilt. And the threads make it sparkle. How different from the original. Good luck with the show. I really wish I could see the whole exhibit, but I will be no where near DC then.

      • Thanks Diane! I would love to see what you could come up with, if you feel moved. 😀 I know a lot of people who are in the same boat. I will try to get some good pictures of the exhibit, but can’t make any promises!

  1. Joni, I just signed up to get blog posts from you, too. You will be one of the first when I get to it. In the meantime, I still have ny spine to do:)

    • Great! I have no idea how you did that, but I’m so glad you figured it out.

      Excellent! If you have questions along the way, or just want to brainstorm, etc, let me know. I look forward to seeing it materialize!

  2. I really do love your work, Joni. Have fun in D.C. Also just saw your sister’s blog, which made me laugh out loud. Her tag line is going to be my new personal mantra, I think!

    • Thanks so much Laura! I look forward to the SfN conference and geeking out! Jill is awesome. I am glad she could make you laugh and give you some inspiration. I often think about “no one yells at a flower to bloom faster” too!

Leave a Reply

